Scientific Committee - Allinky Biopharma

Go to content

Main menu:

Members of the Scientific Committee and Founders of Allinky


Prof. Ignacio Torres is a Research Professor and at present, he is the director of the Institute Cajal, a prestigious research centre that pertains to the Spanish Higher National Research Council (CSIC). He received his post-doctoral training at Tulane University, working with Nobel Prize Andrew Schally, and at Yale University with Fred Naftolin. His work is oriented towards the development of new therapeutic approaches to combat neurodegenerative diseases based on an understanding of the neuro-inflammation and neuroprotection mediated by IGF-I simulated pathways. Ignacio has published over a hundred research articles in international journals and he has been invited to deliver lectures at prestigious institutions in more than twenty countries.

Prof. Juan José Gómez Reino MD is the Head of the Rheumatology Department at the Santiago de Compostela Clinical Hospital (Spain). He was formerly Head of Research and Director of the Rheumatology Section at the "Doce de Octubre" Hospital in Madrid (Spain). Juan obtained his MD and PhD degrees from the Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain), and he undertook his post-doctoral training in internal medicine and rheumatology at the New York State University, Stony Brook (USA). His clinical research mainly focuses on the search for improved treatments for Rheumatoid Arthritis and Atherosclerosis, which has resulted in many clinical

Prof. Juan Jesús Pérez is the Chairman of Physical Chemistry at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Polytechnic University of Catalonia (Spain). He has served as a Senior Researcher in the Molecular Research Institute of Palo Alto (California), as well as a Visiting Scientist at the IBM Laboratories in Kingston (New York). In his early years as a researcher, Juan Jesús followed an international career as a visiting researcher at the University of Manchester's Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST) and at the Max-Planck Institut fur Physik in Munich. In 1999 he received a Research Award from the INQUIFARMA Foundation for the discovery of new therapeutic agents to treat psoriasis. At present, he is the General Secretary of the awarding body of the QUEST quality label for engineering education.

Prof. Angel Messeguer obtained his PhD degree in Organic Chemistry at the University of Barcelona in 1974. In 1975, he joined the Spanish Higher National Research Council (CSIC)staff as a Research Scientist and during 1978-79, he took up a Fulbright postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Cornell, working with Prof. W.S. Bowers. In 1985 he was promoted to Research Associate at the CSIC and in 1991, to Research Professor. He is currently the Head of the Bioorganic Research Group at the Institute of Advanced Chemistry of Catalonia, which pertains to the CSIC. Ángel was President of the Catalan Society of Chemistry from 2002 to 2008. His research has mainly focused on the study of bioactive organic compounds, and on the application of modern Medicinal Chemistry methods to the identification of relevant hits to pharmaceutical targets and their further chemical optimization to lead compounds. He has published 170 scientific articles, he is the co-inventor of 22 patent applications and he has supervised 23 PhD theses.

Prof. Balbino Alarcón is a Research Professor at the Spanish Higher National Research Council (CSIC) working in the Centro de Biología Molecular Severo Ochoa as Head of the TCR signal transduction laboratory. He obtained his PhD degree with honors in biochemistry at the Autonomous University of Madrid and he held a postdoctoral research position at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (Harvard University, Boston) from 1985 to 1990, in the laboratory of Dr Cox Terhorst. His research has focused on the characterization of the earliest mechanisms underlying the transduction of signals by the T cell antigen receptor (TCR), and the identification of direct cytoplasmic effectors and modulators of the TCR that represent attractive molecular targets for the treatment of autoimmune diseases and cancer. Balbino Alarcón has been a member of EMBO since 2000, and he was awarded the “Hoechst Marion Roussel” and “Carmen and Severo Ochoa” prizes in 1998 and 2002, respectively.

Back to content | Back to main menu